top of page
  • Writer's pictureboyarskymanagement2

Why I’m Running for Judge

Updated: Nov 27, 2023

As Liana and I watch our children grow, I have the same quiet wish that all parents have: Please let life treat them fairly. That is the same wish that victims and defendants and families in our various courts have about the system: Let it be fair. That’s what continues to drive me to serve my community as a prosecutor after almost 30 years. It drives me to serve my community as a judge. That simple wish is not a small thing. It’s what makes Santa Clara safe and just for children and the rest of us. That is why I am running for judge. Grateful. Humbled. Those words describe my feelings after seeing your likes and comments and endorsements in response to my announcement that I will be a candidate for Santa Clara County Superior Court. I am proud to announce the following additional endorsements: State Senator Josh Becker, State Assembly Member Marc Berman, Supervisor Joe Simitian, former State Assemblymember Jim Cunneen, former Chair of the Federal Election Commission and former County Counsel Ann Ravel, former District Attorney George Kennedy, District Attorney Stephen Wagstaffe, District Attorney Jeff Reisig, District Attorney Clint Curry, former District Attorney Nancy O’Malley, former San Jose Mayor Tom McEnery, Mountain View Mayor and County Supervisorial Candidate Margaret Abe-Koga, former Palo Alto Mayor Vic Ojakian, former Palo Alto Mayor Adrian Fine, former San Jose Vice Mayor Madison Nguyen, former Chief Assistant District Attorney Marc Buller, former Assistant District Attorney Rolanda Pierre-Dixon, and more distinguished judges, including Judge Thomas Hastings, Judge Dan Nishigaya, Judge Jesus Valencia, Judge Lori Pegg, Judge William Monahan, Judge Diane Northway, Judge Charles Hayden, Judge Audra Ibarra, Judge Carrie Zepeda, Judge John Garibaldi, Judge Leonard Sprinkles, Commissioner Mark Fickes, former Palo Alto Police Chief Dennis Burns, former Mountain View Police Chief Max Bosel, former Los Gatos Police Chief Matt Frisby, former Milpitas Police Chief Armando Corpuz, former San Jose Deputy Police Chief David Tindall, former Palo Alto Police Chief Lynne Johnson, UCSF Police Chief Mike Denson, CSUF Police Chief Ray Aguirre, former Chief of Police Keith Jemison, Ed.D., and others.

Given my decades-long commitment for the most basic human right: the right to love whoever you want and be whoever you were meant to be, I am so pleased to have the support of Drew Lloyd, Board President of BAYMEC*—our LGBTQ+ civil rights organization.

Please check back here in a few days for the launch of my website where I can proudly list your endorsements.

I would be honored to have your official endorsement. Please visit my Contact page to add your support,

Thank you, Jay

197 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page